buy hypertropin

GGTSdotNET

The notes of a madman

Archive for February, 2007

Updating Timezone info on out of support systems (RH 7.3)

Posted by grigsby on February 25, 2007

Steps to update Time Zone data on older systems:

cd /tmp
mkdir tzupdate
cd tzupdate
wget ‘ftp://elsie.nci.nih.gov/pub/tz[cd]*.tar.gz’
gzip -dc tzd*.tar.gz | tar xvf –
gzip -dc tzc*.tar.gz | tar xvf –
zic -d zoneinfo northamerica
tar -cvf /usr/share/zoneinfo_backup.tar /usr/share/zoneinfo/
cp -Rf zoneinfo/ /usr/share/
rm /etc/localtime
ln -s /usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT /etc/localtime
zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT | grep 2007
zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Los_Angeles | grep 2007
zdump -v /etc/localtime | grep 2007

Make sure all report something like this with Mar 11 and Nov 4 as the dates:

/usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT Sun Mar 11 09:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800
/usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT Sun Mar 11 10:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
/usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT Sun Nov 4 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 PDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-25200
/usr/share/zoneinfo/PST8PDT Sun Nov 4 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 PST isdst=0 gmtoff=-28800

If they match, you’re done.